The Cyclist’s Dilemma

he will not forgive
shuns me in once warm places
i will not forget

in tears, she begs me
just get them started–i can’t–
grief bursts into halls

all papers graded
i read Spanish in silence
wait for final bell

a windy walk home
trailed by one-car dilemma
my cyclist shines

headlamp, gloves ready
January? my mistress
cycle through my stress

my peace offering:
the book he wanted to read
(he puts me on stage)

humiliate me?
i crave the Spanish smiles
he doesn’t know me

a windy ride home
cold clings to my clothes with hugs
cheeks on girls’ warm cheeks

this brief moment here
is all i’ve seen them today
my cycle spins on

Leave a Reply

